Jonathan Foust

August 10, 2008

What I Did On My Summer Vacation

Filed under: Observations — jonathanfoust @ 2:45 pm

 

Surfing in the Atlantic

Surfing in the Atlantic

Last summer kind of stunk. 

When my classes ended for the summer I immediately took on way too many projects.  Then after just a few days on the Cape I broke my toe and watched my fantasies for training for Olympic boogie boarding fall away.  Lying on my back (albeit in paradise), unable to walk, swim or bike, I fell into a funk.

This summer, knowing I had three weeks on the Cape while our house was being ransacked and rebuilt, I watched my mind again turn to ambition and lustful thoughts of accomplishment.

I have a writing program I love called Journler.  In it I have a category for entries called “WHAT IF.”  Spontaneously one morning I wrote, “What if this summer I just relaxed and had fun every day?”

When I shared this possibility with Tara she teared up.

“Ah,” I thought, “perhaps this has merit.”

So I learned how to kayak surf.

I dinked with my video camera.

I relaxed.

I had fun.

 
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

